Lingering Magic

I wish I could blog every day, but I don’t feel that creative on a day-to-day basis. I guess there is always too much other stuff going on that pushes back my creativity. So mostly I wait for inspiration and then put it down on paper.

This week’s inspiration comes from a 3 year-old boy, my grandson. He stays at our house a few nights a week and part of our bedtime regimen is reading stories from the many books left over from my children. Tired of reading the same old Mercer Meyer Little Critter series, I decided to improvise the other night and tell a story about a little boy and his grandparents that fly on an airplane and go to Disney World.

Taking the details from our own recent trip, and highlighting the best parts of the vacation, (leaving out the part when Grandma’s back goes out and she’s unable to walk) I wove a magical story that captivated his attention and invited him to participate by asking “and then what did they see?” The surprising part for me was that he remembered most of it! That night I hoped that he fell asleep with visions of Mickey Mouse dancing in his head.

The next night he was here I went back to the Little Critter books but he stopped me mid-sentence and told me he wanted to hear the story about the “little boy” again. After each re-telling of the magical moments of the trip, he jumped out of bed and ran to “Papa” to tell him the story,too.

Disney’s tag line of “Let the Memories Begin” only tells half he story. In the mind of this 3-year-old, they become the stuff that dreams are made of when he sleeps over at Grandma and Papa’s house.

20121209-080505.jpg

1 Comment

Filed under Travel

One response to “Lingering Magic

  1. ¸.•*¨*•.♪♫♫♪ :lol: Happy Holidays to You & Yours! :lol: .♪♫•*¨*•.¸¸ ♥
    ˜”*°•.˜”*°•.˜”*°•.★★.•°*”˜.•°*”˜.•°*”˜” ♥ ˜”*°•.˜”*°•.˜”*°•.★★.•°*”˜.•°*”˜.•°*”˜”
    Eliz

Leave a Reply

