Fear

Downtown Disney

Image by bill barber via Flickr

You gain strength, courage, and confidence by every experience in which you really stop to look fear in the face. You must do the thing which you think you cannot do.   Eleanor Roosevelt

Every day I wonder if there is something I can write about and whether or not inspiration will come to me.  I was almost stuck, until I received a “like” from another blogger and went to read her blog.  The cool thing so far about blogging is that other than your family (who should read your blog everyday) you get other bloggers finding your page and either commenting or liking your post.  The polite thing to do is to also visit their pages, and so far, I am following several other bloggers.

This particular blog really caught my attention;   http://lesleycarter.wordpress.com/ Travel Adventure and New Experiences.  So, this young woman bungee jumps, sky dives, whitewater rafts, and to my amazement, did the jump off the Stratosphere Tower.  Way cool stuff and the very things that terrify me.

Which leads me to my fears:  roller coasters and being up in the air without an airplane.  Not ready to conquer the roller coaster fear.  Having your stomach drop out of your abdomen does not sound like fun to me. (hello-Tower of Terror)    So, taking baby steps, I think I might be ready to do “Characters in Flight“, described as: Characters in Flight operated by Aérophile takes you up in a giant tethered balloon 400 feet above Downtown Disney Area! Ascend in the sky for approximately 8 to 10 minutes and experience a breathtaking, 360–degree view of Walt Disney World Resort in Florida.

Probably a pretty cool view from the top and my stomach will stay right where God had intended it.  So, weather permitting, sign me up!

Have you ever conquered a fear?

4 Comments

Filed under Travel

4 responses to “Fear

  1. Rollercoaster fear!!!!! One of my big fears, and one of my things on my bucket list….One day we should do it together!!!!

    • It’s a deal! I might be up for Rockin Roller Coaster since it’s in the dark, and I don’t think there’s one of those big drops. Just a couple of loop-to-loops where you go upside down. YIKES! I’m dizzy already.

  2. Denese

    Love the blog! You can do Tower of Terror! My fear was a falling elevator – I had recurrent dreams about this, and TOT resolved that issue. However, it takes at least an hour for your hands to recover from their tight grips on the seat rails if you’re anything like me. I want to conquer my fear of Rockin Roller Coaster on this trip though. My 19 year old daughter loves it, but I haven’t had the nerve yet. Arriving tomorrow at BWV!

    • Denese- thanks for the encouragement. TOT really frightens me, but that might be easier to take than the roller coaster. Hope you get up your nerve for Rockin Roller Coaster. Be sure to let me know if you ride it. Hope you have a wonderful vacation.

Leave a Reply

