Let the memories begin-Day 2

No rope drops for us anymore.  Been there, done that with the kids when they were little and don’t have to do it anymore.  Day 2 saw us not visiting a theme park, yet.

Completed my early morning walk around the lake.  It’s one of the best ways I can think of to start my day.  The weather was accommodating to say the least.

Needed to return our rental car at the Dolphin, so ran a quick errand to Wal-Mart for sundries and Halloween decorations for our villa.  Back to the Boardwalk and hopped a bus for Downtown Disney.

For some reason, I though that DD was not going to be busy on a Sunday morning, but I was mistaken.  It was VERY crowded there so we did not stay too long.  A stop at Basin for some bath supplies; coffee at Ghirardelli; run-through of the World of Disney store; pin store; and Goofy’s candy for a caramel apple.

For those that don’t know me, I’m deathly afraid of birds.  So as one of my “face your fears” moments, I had my picture taken with the parrot at Rain Forest Cafe in my best Tippy Hedren imitation.  (you young folks may need to Google that)

Back to our villa for a leisurely afternoon of cocktails and people watching from our balcony.

Early evening found us at the Contempo Cafe at the Contemporary for dinner.  This restaurant is a gem in the quick-service food area.  Good food, fast, is how I would describe it.  I had the grilled mahi sandwich and hubby had the cheeseburger.  Their home-made potato chips are to die for, and as part of the “cupcake crawl”,a red velvet cupcake.

The cupcake did not disappoint.  The frosting was a mixture of butter cream and cream cheese, with a pure cream cheese filling; not too sweet.  Having eaten at Jilly’s cupcakes in St. Louis (the winner of Food Network’s, “Cupcake Wars”) I’m very particular about my cupcakes.  Red Velvet can stand with the best of them.  Hoping to try more cupcakes so that I can make a final analysis.  It’s a tough job but someone has to do it.

Saw lots of families dressed in costume and everyone looked like they were having a great time.

Called it an evening by watching the performers from our balcony.  Day 2 was relaxing and the weather was perfect.  Day 3, Halloween, is calling for rain in the morning, but clearing by afternoon in time for MNSSHP.  Headed to the Magic Kingdom for the party and I can’t wait!

Enjoying the fall decorations at Downtown Disney

My Tippy Hedren imitation

Killer caramel apple!

Cocktail hour in 2041

#1 from the Cupcake Crawl

3 Comments

Filed under Travel

3 responses to “Let the memories begin-Day 2

  1. Carol Puglia

    I see that your are having a great time. I just have 2 questions.

    What is a “rope drop?”
    What is MNSSHP?
    I know who Tippy Hedren is!

  2. Cupcake looks HUGE!!! Love the idea of a cupcake crawl even though that would put me in a sugar coma, literally…I can’t believe you got that close to a bird….Good for you conquering one of your fears..Love reading your blog everyday, keep on writing!!!! xoxo

  3. Mom- rope drop is getting to the parks early enough to stand behind the ropes waiting to get in. MNSSHP is short-hand for Mickey’s Not So Scary Halloween Party. We’re having a great time. Today is Food and Wine which I know will be lots of fun.

Leave a Reply

