Let the memories begin-Day 3

Happy Halloween!  WoW!  What can I say about this day.  It was chock full of fun and excitement.  It was not a great start to the day though.  Woke up to overcast and rainy skies.  More suitable for:

Suitable for Ducks!

Not to be daunted by a little rain, we threw on our rain ponchos and headed to the Yacht Club for breakfast via the Friendship launches.  Eating a substantial breakfast buffet helped us decide to walk back to the Boardwalk and in the pouring rain.

I'm singing in the rain...

Stopped at Java Cafe in the Swan hotel hoping for a decent latte, but sadly was disappointed.  Overpriced and lukewarm.  I can cross this java location off my list.

Back to the room to watch the rain and tidy up the villa.  A cocktail sounds good right about now.  We had been wanting to try the Belle Vue Lounge, but not this time since it does not open until 5:00pm.  Well, there is bar at the ESPN Club so we rode out the storm on a few Jack and Cokes and Captain and Cokes.  It’s dark inside so we could not see that the sun had come out.  YIPPEE!  This was good news since it was almost time to start getting ready for Mickey’s Not So Scary Halloween Party!

I was sitting on the deck doing a little reading before it was time to leave, and hubby yells, “quick get the camera”.  I thought he saw someone in a cool Halloween costume, but instead it was this:

What can I say, but WOW!

It was the Cinderella coach complete with footmen and horses!  All of our years of staying at the Boardwalk, and I NEVER saw this before.  It was way beyond awesome.  I ran out of the room and down to the village green and the coach was picking up a bride for her wedding at the Pavillion.  Her bridesmaids were dressed in Halloween costumes, and I thought, “what a great theme for a wedding”.  So, today, I was able to experience a “first” on my trip.  After 50 trips to Disney World and Disneyland, there are not a lot of “firsts”, but I’m glad I got to experience one today.

Another first- Mickey’s Not So Scary Halloween Party.  We arrived about 4:30 pm just as a good majority of the day visitors were leaving.  We walked on; Buzz Lightyear, Pirates of the Caribbean, and Haunted Mansion.

Some "ghostly" visitors

It was now time to stake our position for the parade and fireworks.  We scored a bench near the castle and spent a pleasurable amount time people watching.  Better than regular people watching since everyone was dressed in costume.  Saw lots of cute kids.  It was tough to pick out a favorite, but there was a toddler dressed up as Nemo and he was just as adorable as can be.  (Although, I know he was not as cute as my grandson dressed as Pooh)  LOTS of Pirates which seemed to be the prevailing costume.  The prize for creativity goes to 2 gentlemen dressed as jellyfish.

Jellyfish costumes!

Typically, I can take parades or leave them, but the “Boo to You” parade was bunches of fun and I caught myself smiling more than once.

“Hallowishes”, again, another WOW!  We tried to capture some of it on film, but pictures will not do this one justice.

Hallowishes

After the 10:30 parade when all the tired children were being taken home, we headed to Tomorrowland for my favorite ride, People Movers, where there is never a line.  While riding around Tomorrowland, we noticed no line for Buzz Lightyear.  YES!  Rode this 3 times in a row where hubby always kicks my butt.  I actually was able to score over 100,000 on the last trip, but was beaten by his score of over 500,000.  Last picture of the night:

"The Claw..."

Left the park at the midnight closing and saw an end to another terrific day at Disney World.  Tomorrow…FOOD AND WINE FESTIVAL!

2 Comments

Filed under Travel

2 responses to “Let the memories begin-Day 3

  1. WOW!!! The Cinderella Coach….Almost makes me want to get married just so I can ride in it (LOL) Halloween looked like it was a lot of fun in DW…What great costumes people come up with. Love the kittcat costume you had…

  2. When you get married, I’ll pay for the ride in the coach! This was the first time we were there at Halloween and we really enjoyed it. I’m thinking about doing it next year, too.

Leave a Reply

