Goldilocks-Too Much, Not Enough and Just Right

I thought I would re-cap our trip using the Goldilocks method.  Here goes:

Too much– fun (in a good way), food, weight gain (5lbs), too many people on phones and not being in the moment with their families, money spent, sweets, Pirate Halloween costumes, people not paying attention when they’re walking, toddlers and older kids with pacifiers, overweight children, bagels bought at Panera, 24 bottles of water, and the amount I spent on a pair of sweatpants that I felt compelled to buy since my own pants got a bit snug towards the end of the week.

Not enough– time spent on vacation, no monorail rides, no train rides, no balloon rides, pictures taken, character visits, ice cream, no churros, popcorn, couples holding hands, patient families, mojitos, swimming, pool time, books read, imagination in our Halloween costumes (I would do better next year) baths taken in the jacuzzi tub, good TV channels (mostly Disney programming),  and no wi-fi in the room.

Just right– holding hands, stolen kisses, relaxation, view from our Boardwalk villa, weather, morning walks around the lake, sitting on our bench, quiet dinners, park crowds, large bottle of Bailey’s, children’s laughter, performing artists on the Boardwalk, fireworks at the parks, crying children (usually they’re all crying at one time or another, but did not witness the usual amount), the walk down the Boardwalk hallway to our room, Easy-Spirit clog walking shoes, polite guests, magical cast members, Southwest “A” boarding passes, on-time flights and no turbulence.

What are some of the things that make YOUR vacation special?

6 Comments

Filed under Travel

6 responses to “Goldilocks-Too Much, Not Enough and Just Right

  1. Allison

    I think 95% of the things you didnt have “enough” of could have been fixed by having Levi there. 🙂

  2. I think you’re right. We would have had more character visits for sure, and popcorn, too!

  3. For me I think more dole whip floats were called for!

  4. prttynpnk- I never did get to see your costumes on Halloween. I was definitely on the look-out for you. You know that I have never had a Dole Whip. I have to put this on my “must-do’s” for next trip.

  5. Aunt Mare

    Loved the Three Bears scenario. What makes my vacation special; not rushing around, walking by the water, collecting shells, sitting on the sand, feeling the warmth of the sun, watching the pelicans ride the tide, watching people, blue skies, a good book.

Leave a Reply

