Fried Dough

Churros

Image via Wikipedia

Imagine my dismay when my Disney vacation treat of churros became available at Costco.    I’m fairly sure that my first bite of this delectable treat came with my introductory visit to Disneyland in 1977; a large stick of dough, deep-fried and rolled in cinnamon and sugar.  I had never tasted anything like this before, and I was hooked.  (are you sensing a theme of addiction to everything Disney?)  Each trip came with the anticipation of getting to eat a churro, and  park visits were incomplete without partaking in this delicacy.

Hoping to make my blog a learning experience for myself and my readers, I decided to research churros for a brief history.  Wikipedia writes that there is some discrepancy on the origin of churros.  One thought is that the Portuguese brought the churro to Europe after their sailings to the Orient.  Another version states that the churro was made by Spanish shepherds as fresh bakery goods were unavailable.  Churro paste was easy to fry in open fires in the mountains where the shepherds spent most of their time.

Churros get their ridged surface from being piped from a churrera; a syringe from a star shaped nozzle.  Spain, Mexico and Argentina sell them for breakfast, much like the beignets made in New Orleans.  Churro dough is made of a mixture of flour, water and salt, and could also be made from potato dough.  Fried potato dough=french fries in my book, though.

For the most part, the Disney churros were delicious, although I have had some awful ones at times.  The bad ones had been sitting around awhile and were stale and dry when I got them, but I ate them nonetheless, since it was a tradition.  Then one day I spied churros sitting under the warming lights in the Costco food court.  They can’t possibly be as good as the ones at Disney, but alas they are.  Cheaper by far, and always fresh.  So I am cheating on Disney with Costco, but I can’t help myself.  The best part is that I don’t have to wait until my annual trip to Disney to eat a churro.  They are now available in my own back-yard; fresh for the taking.  It’s a beautiful thing.

Do you have a special treat that you eat only when on vacation?

2 Comments

Filed under Travel

2 responses to “Fried Dough

  1. Bread pudding in Vegas 🙂

Leave a Reply

