Who Ya Gonna Call?

Ok, I hate to be a curmudgeon, but what in the world is so important that you have to constantly be on your cell phone while on vacation?  I can understand it in everyday life.  People are working and need to communicate, but on vacation?  Please people, unplug!  The saddest thing I saw during our trip were parents riding the bus, heads down, surfing, texting, or reading messages on their phone, oblivious to their children sitting next to them.  The bus never got dark as we were lit by the LED glow of phone screens.

I noticed this trend more and more during the trip and tried to capture people on their phones.  It’s hard to do incognito, though I’m not sure why I thought that.  They’re not paying attention. THEY’RE ON THE PHONE!

Enjoying the view with your phone.

More water/phone enjoyment

Texting at Hollywood Studios

I probably could have snapped pictures of hundreds of people on their phones at the parks, but I would have missed the joy of my own trip.  I left my work phone at home, and my personal cell was turned off, only to be used in the event that Mr. T or I lost each other.  I guess I don’t understand the tethering of people and their cell phones.  I grew up in the age of the 1 phone per house, shared by 8 people.  Don’t get me wrong, though.  I love the technology, but there should be time set aside, if only once a year, to interact with your loved ones on a personal level, and I don’t mean via text saying “I LUV U”.

Do you unplug when you’re on vacation?

2 Comments

Filed under Travel

2 responses to “Who Ya Gonna Call?

  1. wdwalone

    Sadly, I have to stay connected to work, but I usually only check it in queues or in my room. As for the personal phone, I Twitter because it’s fun to share my vacation with others and I text to catch up with people I am going to be meeting with. I also use my personal phone for reading on the Kindle app and it sure makes the wait for a show or a long queue line more enjoyable for me. I’m travel solo though so I’m not taking time away from the people I’m with!

    • wdwalone- well, you certainly bring up some good issues for the phone while on vacation. I do forget about the Kindle on the phones and agree that it makes for a good way to spend your queue time.

Leave a Reply

