Land of the Rising Sun

Probably my favorite store in Epcot is Mitsukoshi in Japan.  It is the largest merchandise store in World Showcase and the items in that store are just beautiful.

Mitsukoshi Department Store

The signage over the store states “established 1673”.  How amazing is that?  The store was originally called “Echigoya” and was in the business of selling kimonos.  Ten years later they implemented a new selling approach.  Instead of selling door to door, they set up the store so that buyers could purchase goods on the spot and pay immediately with cash.

An Ukiyoe with Mt. Fuji and Echigoya as landmarks. Echigoya is the former name of Mitsukoshi named after the former province of Echigo. The Mitsukoshi headquarters are located on the left side of the street.

I have bought a few things from this store over the years; my favorite being a pink rosebud kimono.  I have had the kimono about 10 years, and it looks as good as the day I bought it.  My last trip I purchased 2 ornate greeting cards to send to my sister.  I normally make all my cards, but these were intricate beyond belief and I could not pass them up.

Our favorite restaurant used to be Tempura Kiku.  Fabulous tempura poultry, seafood and vegetables.  It was a “must do” on our trips.  The restaurant has since been replaced with Tokyo Dining, and we have yet to eat there.  I note that tempura is still on the menu, so hoping it’s as good as it used to be.

This blog is another in my series of “I never knew that”.  I’m looking to buff up my expertise on all things Disney World related.  Just when I think there is nothing new to be learned about Disney World, I uncover these little gems, with a bit of research from Wikipedia.   I am adding Japan to my bucket list of places that I would like to visit.  Italy is number 1, and Japan is definitely 2.  I need to add Tokyo Disney to that list, too.

Do you have any little known facts about Disney World that you would like to share?

4 Comments

Filed under Travel

4 responses to “Land of the Rising Sun

  1. I love that store! The pearl vendors (Mikimoto and pick your own)the pottery, the little purses- I can spend way too much time and money there and be very happy!

    • I agree about spending a lot of time in that store. I’m guilty too. There’s so much to look at. I have never checked out the pearl counter, though. On my list for next time.

  2. wdwalone

    This is my favorite store as well. I studied Japanese in high school and college and have always wanted to go to Japan!

  3. I studied Japanese for a semester. Learned “hello” and “thank you”, but would love to speak the language. It will have to come after I learn to speak Italian, though.

Leave a Reply

