Weight Watchers

"Get fat on Lorings Fat-ten-u and corpula...

Image via Wikipedia

Always wondering where my next inspiration will come from, I received an e-mail from Weight Watchers today, titled “How to Stay on Track While Traveling”.  First of all, this e-mail comes about 2 weeks too late.  Secondly, when I’m on vacation, I’m also taking a break from the relentless endeavor of watching what I eat and how much.

I am a Lifetime Weight Watchers member, although not in good standing.  I made my goal weight, but have not stayed within 3 pounds of that weight.  I’m probably closer to 18 pounds over my goal weight.  It’s not for lack of trying, nor lack of exercise.  I’m not quite sure what it is, but the goal weight continues to elude me.  (I’m blaming in on menopause, but have been unable to prove it definitively)

Anyway, going to the Food and Wine Festival there is nothing on my mind, except, well, food and wine.  I ate everything I wanted to eat; ordered appetizers and fattening meals at the restaurants, ate decadent desserts, snacked on cookies, ice cream and cupcakes, and plied myself with liquor.  It was GLORIOUS!  For 1 week of my life I was not consumed with Weight Watchers points, fat grams, carbs or calories.  My reasoning ( my story and I’m sticking to it) was that I was going to trick my body so that when I got back home and started the food monitoring again, my body would realize the smaller amount of calories, and start shedding weight.  HA! HA!  It worked.  I weighed when I got home and was 5 pounds heavier.  After 1 week, I lost 6 pounds.  I could go 3 weeks at Weight Watchers without losing a pound.  Go figure.

The question is, do you “let it all go” while on vacation, or do you try to stay on track?

7 Comments

Filed under Travel

7 responses to “Weight Watchers

  1. Let it all when on vacation…..and everyday!!!

  2. I let it all go- hoping that the walking will help me or that the sunlight will melt the dole whip float calories off my rear…..

  3. That sounds like a good plan! I must factor in sunlight on my next trip.

  4. wdwalone

    Yep, I let it all go when I’m on vacation. It’s important to live life to the fullest (in moderation) and vacation is one time that I do that.

  5. Pingback: Weight Watch This! | Neither Bread Nor Milk

Leave a Reply

