Christmas Comes Early

I try to dedicate my blog to Disney stuff, but I feel compelled to write about my sister.   If you have been reading, you know that she has been fighting cancer.  Today, her doctor spoke the words that she has been waiting to hear; cancer free!  Her 18 month journey has been tough, to say the least.  I want to celebrate her courage, and the early Christmas gift that her friends and family have received.

She has been keeping a journal at Caring Bridge.com, which is like a blog for those facing serious illness.    I would like to share part of her journal regarding what she has learned from cancer. ( I have to admit that she is a better writer than I will ever be.)  Her words are so inspirational that I think we all can benefit from at least one, if not all, of the lessons that she so eloquently expresses.

Things That Cancer Taught Me

To be patient with my body – The journey through treatment and chemotherapy was long and filled with suffering and the journey home, body weary and bruised, may take a long time, maybe for the rest of my life.

To celebrate each day – I can’t know if cancer will make another appearance but I know for a fact that I will die of some cause, some day – just not today. I will therefore celebrate each day until I have no tomorrows left.

To love the ones who love me – I know who my true friends are now and – though I never doubted my family’s love – cancer has helped underline and establish it’s importance. The people who love us are the most important people in our lives. I tell them I love them – and show it – every day.

To be kind to others – I have no idea why a stranger didn’t return my smile or the cashier at the store was crabby. I have not walked in their shoes and don’t know their back story. So I ask. I listen. I am kind to everyone. And I try to express the empathy I have been so blessed to receive.

To not sweat the small stuff – In the scheme of things, being late, chores not being done, and other little things are insignificant. I do my best and try not to worry about the rest.

To be humble – Spending five months completely hairless, swollen from steroids, nauseated every second of every day, avoiding mirrors, worrying that I was going to die a bald, bloated, cancer-riddled woman has a way of humbling a person. Undergoing cancer treatment has given me a universal smack down – a cosmic lesson in humility – and for that I am grateful.

.

6 Comments

Filed under Travel

6 responses to “Christmas Comes Early

  1. Disney is about happy and family- so this ties in beautifully. Great news…take her to Disney!

  2. Great suggestion! She has been wanting to go to Food and Wine, so 2012 may be her year!

  3. wdwalone

    Congratulations on the cancer free diagnosis for your sister – that is awesome! Thank you for sharing her lessons from cancer, I think there are things in there that we could all learn from. A Disney trip would be a fabulous way to celebrate.

  4. Hallelujah! Congrats to your sister… I’m so happy for her and send prayers and blessings for continued health. Great news! 🙂

Leave a Reply

