How much is enough?

Today, I am reveling in the luxury of a day off from work, as I know a lot of other people are.  I’m also wishing that I had more time off this week, but I don’t.  I feel the same way when I’m at Disney World.  No matter how many days I’m there, I always wish I had one more day.

When the kids were little, we used to spend three, maybe four days on vacation; one day for each park.  It was probably all we could afford, and after three days of commando park hopping, we were exhausted.  Once we bought into Disney Vacation Club, we did not do quite a much park hopping, and the vacations started getting longer.

We are now up to six or seven days, and I still don’t feel like it’s enough.  The time limitation is based on:  available vacation days from work, points available in my DVC use year, and most importantly-money.  After one week now, I’m still not ready to leave.  How many days would be enough?  I’d like to get up to 10 days, but waiting until I have some DVC vacation points built up for that.  My ultimate goal would be to spend 30 days at Disney World, but I don’t think this will happen until retirement.  30 days in the month of January or February so that I can escape the worst of the Midwest winters.

How many days do you normally spend at Disney World, and is it ever enough?

4 Comments

Filed under Travel

4 responses to “How much is enough?

  1. Actually I max out on the magic at about 6 days in the park. My husband the Grumpy Curmudgeon has had as many children running into him as he can take, I have had enough buses to last until next time and I and down to the boring staples left in my suitcase. I think maybe we need to take a ‘do nothing’ day in the middle to replensih my happy,happy!

    • We don’t ever spend all our days in the parks anymore. It’s too exhausting. Last trip we were there for 6 days, and only spent 3 days at the parks. The rest of the time is spent relaxing and enjoying the vacation.

  2. wdwalone

    My longest trips were 14 days…but now that I have DVC and go more often, I’m really liking the shorter trips more often. I get to experience new things and don’t do commando park hopping any more. It’s more relaxing. Of course, I am getting ready for another nice long vacation so that I can have that time away from work!

    • I’m really torn between more/shorter trips or one big long one. It would be exciting not to have my countdown at 298 days, but shorter intervals. We just have to face the fact that you can NEVER get enough of Disney.

Leave a Reply

