Birthdays

Raining "buckets" in February

In the month of December there are no less than a dozen birthdays of my family and friends. Not sure what it is about the month of March, but I’m guessing something about cabin fever and winter being too long.  My birthday is in February; Ground Hog Day to be exact, and there is nothing that I like better than spending my birthday at Disney World.

Early February is a great time to visit Disney World.  Holidays are over, MLK week-end has passed and there are those precious few weeks between mid January and mid-February which beg me to come and visit.   The weather can be iffy; cold and rainy, or you could get lucky with some balmy mid 70’s weather, but either way, a great winter escape.

In 2010, I spent my birthday in Disney World, and had a great time.  Even though it rained buckets, it was fabulous.  I wore my “It’s my Birthday” button and received “Happy Birthday’s” all day long from cast members.      In 2011, I was not lucky enough to be at my favorite place, but my family was coming from Chicago to help me celebrate.  NOT!  You may recall the HUGE blizzard that stranded cars on Lake Shore Drive and then wreaked havoc on the east coast.  I spent that day dreaming about the rain in Florida and wishing I was there.

Have you spent your birthday at Disney World?  What are the things that you like to do to make your day more special?

5 Comments

Filed under Travel

5 responses to “Birthdays

  1. I have never spent my bday there but my wife and I did have a wonderful 15th anninversary there!

  2. wdwalone

    I spent my birthday at WDW in 2009 – I was staying at the Animal Kingdom Lodge and they had a birthday button for me, I came back to my room and had a lovely key chain and card from the cast members at the lodge. I also did the Backstage Magic tour that day and that was a super way to spend the day :)!

  3. Ground Hog Day? No one will forget that special birthday. 🙂

Leave a Reply

