Runners take your mark…

This is Walt Disney World Marathon Week-End!  From the Disney website:

Walt Disney World® Marathon Weekend presented by CIGNA

January 5-8, 2012

Imagine a weekend of runs where every mile is filled with Disney fun at the 2012 Walt Disney World® Marathon Weekend presented by CIGNA on January 5-8, 2012. Join us for a weekend of races that are magical as they are memorable, from Disney’s Health & Fitness Expo to running through all four Theme Parks in the Marathon and all-new Marathon Relay. Complete with medals of Mickey Mouse and his friends, you’d be, well, goofy to miss it!

I really admire anyone who can run a marathon.  I always tear up when then contestants from “The Biggest Loser” run the marathon at the end of the season.  What an accomplishment!  They have gone from being significantly obese to world-class athletes.  It’s amazing!

I would love to say that I have run a marathon, but there is just one small problem with that.  I HATE to run.  I like to work-out, I like to spin, but I do NOT run or jump.  The closest I came to a marathon was a 5K race.  It wasn’t really a race, since it was not too hard to beat me.  My only goals were:

  • To finish the race (which I did)
  • To not drop dead on the course (I did not)

I think I finished somewhere in the high 45 minute mark, but I gave myself “A” for effort.  So to all of you runners at Disney World this week-end, my hat is off to you.

 

3 Comments

Filed under Travel

3 responses to “Runners take your mark…

  1. wdwalone

    The races were great, but would have been even better if I wasn’t sick during the two long races :)!

  2. DisneyDaughter

    My friend Steph who was my roommate down in Disney back in 06′ she has been running in those Marathon’s.

Leave a Reply

