Vinylmation

Is it me or does anyone else find this stuff creepy?  I used to collect the ceramic characters because I thought they were cute; little glass miniatures of your favorite Disney characters.  I don’t see those much in the parks anymore, but there sure is a lot of the vinylmation stuff.

Yikes! Scary!

What’s weird about these thing is that they are in the shape of Mickey Mouse.  I’m sure I NEVER saw Mickey morph into any of these types of characters.

Cross Dresser Mickey?

King Tut Mickey?

And to top it all off, these things are not cheap.  The ones I saw on the Disney Store website were $45 to $55.    I know why the ceramic figurines are not around anymore; no profit in them.  I used to spend $10-$15 a piece for them, so there you go.

I apologize to the Vinylmation collectors out there, but if you can convince me of the allure of these things, I might take a different viewpoint.

6 Comments

Filed under Travel

6 responses to “Vinylmation

  1. I so don’t get these. They look like Happy Meal prizes from hell. Give me the Jim Shore or the Olszewski miniatures- these just don’t appeal to me. Apologies from me too, I guess.

  2. wdwalone

    There are a few that I have started buying – mostly the ones available for the runDisney events that I do. I also collect key chains so I have a couple of the key chain sized ones. I don’t love them or hate them, but I do not like to buy ones that I cannot see what I am going to be getting…I’m not in to trading and I’m not that big on surprises.

  3. I agree… It does look kinda creepy. I wonder why the scary face. 🙂

Leave a Reply

