Vegan in Walt Disney World

I tried vegan once for about 2 weeks.  I was hoping to lose some weight, but it never happened.  I found myself eating way too many carbs, and therefore abandoned the vegan life.  I know it takes a lot of time and effort on the cooking front, but I was not willing to put the time in.  I have some family members that are vegan and I wondered what it would be like to eat vegan at Walt Disney World.

Doing my research, I can recommend the following sites:

Vegan Dining at Disney World-the author provides several good tips about being vegan; bringing snacks from home and calling the restaurants ahead of time to make meal arrangements.  A main course and dessert from Boma looked absolutely delicious.

The Disney Food Blog-some good Q&A plus information on how to contact the Special Diets line at Walt Disney World so that restaurants can prepare ahead of time.  A very nice service.

All Ears.net-posts the menus from all the restaurants at Walt Disney World.  Good place to scope out what’s available.

Popcorn and pretzels are vegan at Disney World, so that’s good to know, although I’m pretty sure the churros are not.  That would be a bummer for me, as well as all the desserts.  The writers above all acknowledge that there are lots of choices for snacks, especially fresh fruit and veggies.

So, it IS possible to eat vegan in Walt Disney World.  It just takes a little planning ahead.  Would anyone like to share their vegan experience?

5 Comments

Filed under Travel

5 responses to “Vegan in Walt Disney World

  1. Deborah Puglia

    Thanks Leanne, great ideas. Since Mike and I try to be Nutrarian, which means not just Vegan but we try not to eat anything white, now that’s a challenge. We choose to eat this way for our health not because we have any issues with animal products. But it looks like there is a lot of choices in Disney when we are there is October, plus if you guys are going to the grocery before you get to the park we’ll give you a list, if you don’t mind. Thanks for the great tips.

    • I was looking for a topic and thought of you guys. It was interesting research. I sent Michael a separate e-mail on shopping.

      • Deborah Puglia

        Thanks Leanne appreciate the help. It’s a challenge to find Vegan alternatives, but your blog helped a lot. Like I said its a health issue not a moral issue, so if something’s made with beef broth we’re not going to spit it out! The not eating white flour, sugar, potatoes, rice, lard, etc is harder but on vacation we will try Baby Cakes!!!

  2. wdwalone

    Well, I can’t actually contribute on this subject since I’m not Vegan. This is a great post though and don’t forget about Baby Cakes NYC at DownTown Disney for all those desserts that are Vegan, Gluten Free and more…I haven’t had the chance to them yet, but I hear that there products are absolutely delicious!!!

Leave a Reply

