Traveling Companions

We’ve taken many, many, trips to Disney World; with family, without family, with friends, and alone.  Some of the best trips have been with others, and some of the “not so good” trips have been with others.  It always amazes me that there are some people who you can travel with and some that you cannot.

Our favorite traveling companions are those that like to venture out on their own.  Those that want to stay connected at the hip with you, makes for a very long and stressful vacation.  I’m of the opinion that not only is it my vacation, but your vacation too.  Everyone should do what makes them happy, and if by chance we happen to be doing it together, that’s great.  If not, that’s fine also.

I have no patience for the “what do you want to do?  I don’t know what do you want to do”?  No one ever agrees and someone ends up compromising and being unhappy with the choice.  So, you go your way, and I’ll go mine and we’ll both be happy.  We’ll meet for dinner and drinks later and share stories about our day.

We’ve become adept at picking our traveling companions. At this stage of the game I know who I can travel with and whom I can’t, and mostly it’s just Mr. T and I.  Even we, are not immune to the occasional disagreement while on vacation, but we get over it pretty quickly.

So I have to ask, what is your preference for traveling to Disney World; big group or small intimate gathering?

6 Comments

Filed under Travel

6 responses to “Traveling Companions

  1. This is such good timing- the husband and I are getting prepared to spend a week with his mother at her timeshare in Celebration. We have never traqvelled with others or used off site. This could end up being the Trail of Tears part 2! JUst thinking about dining, parking, the logistics of her potentially using a wheelchair…..it’s a whole new ballgame. Eek!

  2. wdwalone

    I’ve done solo and I’ve done larger family trips. While I have fabulous memories from my family trips, I can also recall many disagreements, arguments and tears because someone didn’t get to do what they wanted.

    So, at this point in my life – I’m perfectly fine with my solo trips as I only have to argue with myself :)!

  3. I hear you… I enjoy my own company… and the kids can come along sometimes. 😉

Leave a comment